School League

Category: Activities Written by Super User

Templederry School League

The Pat Crowe memorial shield is one of the highlights of the  Templederry school calendar and one of the most talked about memories of past pupils. Getting your name on the coveted shield as winning captain is a dream shared by many. The names of the winning captains have been etched in history which is a fitting tribute to Pat Crowe R.I.P. and the Crowe family.

Since 1985 the school league provides an opportunity for young hurlers to compete with their friends who will be team mates in the future. Many hurlers who compete have gone on to have a great hurling career with:

Templederry Kenyons GAA club.

Indeed, the winning captain in 2001 was Gearóid Ryan who went on to win the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Final with Tipperary. Interestingly, Tipperary won the All-Ireland in 2001, the same year as Gearóid lifted the school league shield aloft and they had to wait until Gearóid came of age before they lifted the Liam McCarthy Cup again in 2010.


  • 1985:  William Ryan
  • 1986:  Liam Murray
  • 1987:  Not played
  • 1988:  Richard Kennedy
  • 1989:  Ken  Fogarty
  • 1990:  Seamus Kennedy
  • 1991:  Donal  Kennedy
  • 1992:  Noel Murray
  • 1993:  Larry Ryan
  • 1994:  John  Kennedy
  • 1995:  Pádraig Ryan
  • 1996:  Séamus O Leary
  • 1997:  J.J. Fahey
  • 1998:  Daniel  Shanahan
  • 1999:  Matthew  Ryan
  • 2000: Donal  McGrath
  • 2001:  Gearóid  Ryan
  • 2002:  Ronan Kinane
  • 2008:  Ciaran  Carey
  • 2009:  Cliodhna  Ryan
  • 2010:  Darragh  Carey
  • 2011:   Richard  O  Donoghue
  • 2012:  Matthew  Ryan
  • 2013:  Sean  Ryan
  • 2014:  Colm  Murray
  • 2015:  Mikie  Ryan
  • 2016:  Michael Ryan.

2017:   New School Shield.

A new school shield was donated by the Ryan Family, Boherlody in memory of the late Séamus who was a loyal GAA supporter, a proud Templederry club man and an admirer of underage hurling. The new shield was graciously accepted by the school as were the trophies for this year’s league ( also sponsored by the Ryan family).  No doubt for many years to come in Templederry N.S. the chance to win the Seamus Ryan Memorial Shield will motivate great hurling.

2017 : Winning Captain:       Colm Ryan

Another great school hurling league has been played off in recent weeks. The red and black teams made it to the final and after a great game, the red team emerged as winners. This year the school was delighted to accept a new school league shield donated by the Ryan family, Boherlody, in memory of Seamus. .In a very generous gesture, they also sponsored this year’s trophies for the winners and runners up.



Hits: 174